Will you be my maid of honor?

“Will you be my maid of honor?” I can still hear my friend’s excited voice over the phone as
she told me that her boyfriend had just popped the big question. “Of course!” I exclaimed, my voice echoing the joy in hers. This question was not a surprise. We had made promises to each other when we were kids about what our weddings would be like when we grew up. However, despite these promises, I was completely unprepared for the emotional journey I was about to embark on.

A few months into the engagement Lauren started looking for a dress. I was living out of
state at this point and I felt a pang of guilt every time she emailed me pictures of the wedding gowns she was looking at. I wasn’t there to help her. I wasn’t doing my part as her maid of honor. I tried to help her through phone and email, but it wasn’t the same as being there and that made me sad.

A couple months later I was back in town, and Lauren and I had one of those ‘our lives are changing’ conversations. Tears streamed down our faces towards the end of our talk. We realized that even though our lives would continue to change, we would always be friends. Despite these promises, I still thought that our friendship just couldn’t possibly be the same and it left me feeling distressed.

A couple days later I fought back tears again at the rehearsal dinner, as I wished the happy couple joy in their life together. The waterworks seemed to be in never ending supply on my part.

The next day I took my place in the line of bridesmaids. As the church doors opened to reveal Lauren standing there with her dad, I realized: this is it. A new chapter in her life was about to begin. All of the emotion of the past months and weeks seemed to come to a head at that moment as I watched her dad lead her down the aisle. For what felt like the
thousandth time, I felt tears beginning to form in my eyes. But this time they were different. Before, my tears had had an element of sadness in them because I was afraid that I was losing my best friend. Now I knew that that wasn’t true. As Lauren handed me her bouquet of flowers, she smiled at me and I knew that I was not losing her. Things were going to change, but our friendship would always be the same.

My name is Olivia and I’m a new intern at Zoomworks Photography.  This was a very personal experience that I had that introduced me into the world of weddings. I will continue to write for Zoomworks and I look forward to sharing more posts with you!

Leave a Reply

